400 modified

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 400 modified

My dad is looking at a coupe with a built 400 modified, it has some sort of aluminum heads, and adapter plates for the intake, 850 demon, solid lifter cam etc. We dont know a thing about these motors and was hoping someone on here might give us some insight on them. RPM range, block strength etc etc

I think it was on the other site awhile back its an orange 81 hatch with a 9'' possibly ntgearheads had it i cant remember exactly.

Thanks for any help
    81 LX
    82 GT

it's essentially a Cleveland top end with a Windsor 3" main bottom end and a big block transmission pattern... a bastard child of sorts and kinda not really worth building, BUT plenty capable of power and I would have to assume the block is friggin' stout
    http://www.truthcontest.com/entries/...iversal-truth/

Comment

I'm not a ford expert by any means but I know of some people who have used the 400m's to build motors out of and I read a couple articles where Jon Kasse used them to build some of the engine master motors. Everything I've heard is they are about as trong of a block as you can get and I know they have reall tall deck height.

Comment

I have heard mixed things on them aswell
        81 LX
        82 GT

Comment

The only problem should be the cast crank, and it shouldn't be a problem. Beyond that, they're stupid strong. New cranks are available at most NAPA's, and they're pretty cheap. I doubt he breaks it.
          ZOMBIE REAGAN FOR PRESIDENT 2016!!! heh

Comment

Some of them cracked heads a lot. Wouldn't mind some alum. Heads for mine.

Sent from my SPH-M900 using Tapatalk
            2015 F250 Platinum

Comment

What I remember most about them, is all related to the heads/gaskets.

Comment

Originally posted by Vertnut View Post
                What I remember most about them, is all related to the heads/gaskets.
                and oil pressure issues...