5.0 CJ... and others.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5.0 CJ... and others.

So I got quite a bit of .308 brass from a buddy who inherited it from his father in law. I got about 150 cases with a LC Match head stamp with various years, and about 350 cases with a RA head stamp with various years on it. I just started cleaning some up and noticed that quite a few of them have small nicks or dents in them. Just curious if it's ok to use them? I am just starting to reload rifle stuff so I'm new to it. I've been reloading pistol for a while, so I've got that down. But rifle seems like a totally different animal.

Also, would I be better off reloading with a single stage? I have a XL650 right now, but the caliber conversion and everything would be more than a single stage press and I'm really going for accuracy with these loads. Thanks for any input.

Geoff

Pic of some of the cases:

04 2.6 KB'd Cobra!

Originally posted by Sean88gt
    There is something about her that just makes my dick completely take over any thought process. If Russell Brand were on top of her, I'd fuck him just to say I pushed a dick inside of her.

That's because they were likely fired from a machinegun. What kind of stamp do they have on the head? There's nothing wrong with these. Small dings like this will most likely disappear when you run them through your resizing die. Not until you get big dents are they useless.

Just remember these are 7.62x51 Cases - not .308 cases. They have thicker walls and heads, so they have less volume. The general rule is to use a 10% reduction in charge if loading from a .308 commercial manual.

Also it's important to mention these probably have crimped primers which will need to be knocked out and then deburred. It appears they have already been knocked out, so just make sure the previous person chamfered the pocket.
    "When the people find that they can vote themselves money, that will herald the end of the republic." -Benjamin Franklin