No announcement yet.

99 4 Runner SR5, 300k miles. Worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 99 4 Runner SR5, 300k miles. Worth it?

I have been offered a garage kept 99 4Runner. 3400 V6 with 300k miles. Body looks great. Guy says it started overheating bad so he figured the engine was toast. I don't think I can lose on the deal for the cost of towing home.

I have no experience with these or the engines. I am thinking headgaskets unless there is something else common to these to look for?

Worth it? Depends on what you pay lol

If it’s free, then fuck yes jump all over it and fix it and drive it fo life!
    "PSH!!!"

Comment

Used engines are about $1000 for those and it's about a 15 hour job to replace. About 11 hours to replace both head gaskets and you should do the timing belt as well.

Keep in mind that it is a DOHC engine. If the heads are warped at all they are junk.

Comment

Originally posted by Frank View Post
        I have been offered a garage kept 99 4Runner. 3400 V6 with 300k miles. Body looks great. Guy says it started overheating bad so he figured the engine was toast. I don't think I can lose on the deal for the cost of towing home.

I have no experience with these or the engines. I am thinking headgaskets unless there is something else common to these to look for?
        Depends on how bad he let it over heat. Does it hold fluids?

Comment

4wd?

Comment

Free to me. Tow quote is $150 to my house. Clear title. No idea on how bad it overheated or if it leaked fluids. Bound to be worth $350 in scrap value, right?

Comment