Who plays golf?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who plays golf?

I've been playing for about 2 years, and I still haven't broke 100 I've gotten close though. I can say I've steadily improved since I started, but I feel like my swing is very inconsistent, and I'd really like to fix this. I can go from hitting too fat, to topping the ball, to hitting perfectly in a handful of swings. Fixing this would no doubt shave a ton of strokes off my game. I'm thinking about taking lessons, but I'm not sure if it will help, and who to go to for lessons. Post up if you play, what your handicap is and if you have any recommendations it would be appreciated!!

Not played consistently in a few years, but I hovered around a 10 handicap before I got into car racing.

Lessons help if you can find someone with a style you like. I took lessons from the guys at Hank Haney (in McKinney).

What equipment are you using? It's a lot of indian and some arrow, but you have to start out with forgiving stuff.

I'd recommend that you focus on your short game and then work backwards from there. Putting and chipping will easily knock 10 strokes off your game right now if you can make decent contact.

I played with a guy that was older and he basically hit 5i and 7i up until around the green then he would chip it close and 1 put. Consistency was key for him and he'd score between 80 and 90 consistently (bogey golf, which is a great goal). He never had blow up 8s, 9s or more.

I always liked to hit the driver, so we were a good team for pair events, but we definitely had different styles lol.

Comment

I like to play, but don't get to very often. If you don't want to pay for lessons, I've picked up a lot of things by watching the Golf Fix with Michael Breed on the Golf Channel and I picked up his book that uses the aid of a video camera to improve your swing. Whatever you do, correct your bad habit as soon as possible. The longer you play with them, the harder they are to break.