Possible Scam... Any Ideas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible Scam... Any Ideas?

Sitting at my desk at work and receive a call from someone asking for me by name. Considering I was at work and at my extension I confirmed who I was and asked how I could help them. They then asked me if I was a Project Manager at my company. (She said the company name) I confirmed the info.
    I once again asked how I could help her.

The Indian accented female then promptly said thank you and hung up.

Weird... I called back the same number where the recorded voice for the mailbox had a personal name and the voice was male and not accented. The mailbox was full.

This is almost certainly an identity scam I'm thinking.

You folks have any ideas of what the next steps should be at this point?

(Other than watching my bank accounts and credit cards)

PM Dan Bishop.

Comment

Originally posted by Mike View Post
      PM Dan Bishop.
      you mean Dan Bishop , project manager at GE?

Comment

Selling your data, phishing, identity theft...something like that.

What industry are you in?

Comment

Dan Bishop... classic

---------------------

I'm on the IT side of restaurants.

(Point Of Sale and Network Installs)

Comment

Originally posted by Mike View Post
            PM Dan Bishop.
            Good ole Dan Bishop, he's still over at GE i think, still in project managment. What a character.
            G'Day Mate

Comment

Wasn't Dan Bishop, project manager of GE, arrested for having sex with horses?

edit: lol just google "Dan Bishop GE" - I'm proud of this group

Comment

You didn't watch a VHS you found in the attic of a shady house, did you?

Comment

In the age of LinkedIn, I can't imagine that confirming your name and title would be all that dangerous.

Comment

I have gotten a few similar calls on my cell.