DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2018, 07:26 AM   #1
Jon/xpm
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default New Windows Update

Howdy Everyone!!!!!!!!

Windows did a massive update for me today. I noticed a "few" changes when it was done. My desktop background was change to a windows default and the custom image was removed. Windows Edge icon installed on the desktop. The new look of the task view button.

But the most important one, my volume was drastically changed. I now have it up 3x to 4x higher then it was before the update to hear the same thing as before. Anyone got any suggestions to resolve this?

Thanks
Jonathan
Jon/xpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 07:30 AM   #2
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,115
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

See, I thought I was imagining things and that all the years of workin in loud environments had finally started to take its toll.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:41 AM   #3
Jon/xpm
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Another issue I just found out about, you have to allow access to use your microphone in windows for certain programs now.
Jon/xpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:44 AM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,115
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

That should always have been the case, not the old permissions system of default allow.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 02:12 PM   #5
Chili
Joe Blow
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1975
Location: Euless
Posts: 24,382
Default

The volume and volume mixer on windows 10 has been acting funny for me recently, not sure if it's related..
Chili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 02:50 PM   #6
SS Junk
Lifer
 
SS Junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 17,873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chili View Post
The volume and volume mixer on windows 10 has been acting funny for me recently, not sure if it's related..
Audio didn't work for me. Rebooted and it's good now, but am getting all these bogus "you just plugged into the front jack" messages even though notifications in the audio manager are turned off.
SS Junk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 01:30 AM   #7
kingjason
Notorious PIG
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Down South
Posts: 7,646
Default

I was wondering why I had no sound on one site.
__________________
Whos your Daddy?
kingjason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:02 AM   #8
Chili
Joe Blow
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1975
Location: Euless
Posts: 24,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Junk View Post
Audio didn't work for me. Rebooted and it's good now, but am getting all these bogus "you just plugged into the front jack" messages even though notifications in the audio manager are turned off.
Crazy!.. One thing happening to me is that when I have nothing plugged in it tells me I'm using my headphones, when I plug my headphones in, it says I'm using my built-in speakers.. Mainly goofy stuff like that.

@kingjason - I have had some issues with certain sites, but can correct it by opening the mixer.. Just sucks that I have to take extra steps when it used to work fine just using the master volume.
Chili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:11 AM   #9
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,115
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

It sounds like this is an updated/changed driver in the latest roll-up that's affecting the audio adapter. Check your OEM for the most current, supported driver, not just what M$ deems you should be using. My mobo OEM listed a driver that's NOT what Win Updated applied. Gonna try it now.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:20 AM   #10
Chili
Joe Blow
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1975
Location: Euless
Posts: 24,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
It sounds like this is an updated/changed driver in the latest roll-up that's affecting the audio adapter. Check your OEM for the most current, supported driver, not just what M$ deems you should be using. My mobo OEM listed a driver that's NOT what Win Updated applied. Gonna try it now.
Ok, so if I have a Lenovo y520, I should check with them for the correct driver?

Thanks!

ETA.. Hell, now I'm noticing issues with my work laptop (HP on Windows 7 Enterprise).. Only noticing differences with GoToMeeting and my Avaya soft phone, both when using headphones.. Maybe my Samsung Headphones are the issue (they've been working been fine on both for months). I guess I'll try out some different headphones before doing anything else. I think I have a pair of MS communication headphones at home..

Last edited by Chili; 05-17-2018 at 08:26 AM.
Chili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:21 AM   #11
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,115
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Correct senior
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.