DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2021, 07:45 AM   #1
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default Can someone check this build over for me plz..

Its been a long while since I pieced together a PC and I need someone to double check this stuff before I buy something that is incompatible.

I'm reusing an existing case and for now my GPU. I just need the meat and potatoes of this thing to be better than what I have now.

Uses are mild gaming, video editing, watching porn.


MOBO
https://www.newegg.com/asus-tuf-gami...82E16813119353

PROCESSOR
https://www.newegg.com/amd-ryzen-9-3...82E16819113103


RAM
https://www.newegg.com/corsair-16gb-...82E16820236683

POWER SUPPLY
https://www.newegg.com/evga-supernov...9SIACVBBN38019
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2021, 09:32 AM   #2
Craizie
Not very WOKE
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13,379
Default

Check this out https://pcpartpicker.com/
I probably wouldn't use new egg.

That seems like a lot of PC for what you have in mind.
Craizie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 11:30 AM   #3
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craizie View Post
Check this out https://pcpartpicker.com/
I probably wouldn't use new egg.

That seems like a lot of PC for what you have in mind.
That site is nice. It warns of incompatibility issues as you add items to the build. It was however quite a bit more expensive than new egg. I ordered it all from Newegg yesterday.

Now my old ass 980 TI gpu will need updated at some point.
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 11:41 AM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 15,127
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

That site is helpful, but w/Ryzen, it's pretty important that you ensure your ram is on the MOBO QVL.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 06:47 PM   #5
black2002ls
Lifer
VIP Member
 
black2002ls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,695
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inline 6 View Post
That site is nice. It warns of incompatibility issues as you add items to the build. It was however quite a bit more expensive than new egg. I ordered it all from Newegg yesterday.

Now my old ass 980 TI gpu will need updated at some point.
I found it beneficial to build a cart on new egg, nd then price shop pcpartpicker, amazon, etc. I saved a decent amount bundling components from different sources, even with the additional shipping charges

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah View Post
Best balls I've had in my mouth in a while.
black2002ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 06:50 PM   #6
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
That site is helpful, but w/Ryzen, it's pretty important that you ensure your ram is on the MOBO QVL.
I checked it and the processor is listed. The memory however, the same prefix on the p/n is there but the part of the p/n that references the speed of the memory is different. The memory I have is slower that what is listed on the compatability chart. Doesn't sound like that would be an issue?
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 06:55 PM   #7
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 15,127
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Hang tight, lemme get my ish(innertubes) stable and I'll get you ve some more actionable info.

That said, you really want to run your ram at 3200mhz,at the least.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2021, 08:14 PM   #8
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
Hang tight, lemme get my ish(innertubes) stable and I'll get you ve some more actionable info.

That said, you really want to run your ram at 3200mhz,at the least.
Thats what I got. It was the highest the mobo could support before OC

I also ordered 2 sets of that ram. So 4 sticks of 16mb total
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 02:52 PM   #9
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
Hang tight, lemme get my ish(innertubes) stable and I'll get you ve some more actionable info.

That said, you really want to run your ram at 3200mhz,at the least.
Any luck?
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 03:35 PM   #10
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 15,127
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inline 6 View Post
Any luck?
My apologies, this slipped my mind after bein w/out inernets and clearing snow. I'm lookin now.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 04:07 PM   #11
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 15,127
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Ok, how many hdd's you gonna have, what gpu and planned upgrade for it do you have in mind, what cooling solution are you planning on? That gen architecture has teh ccx's off-center and it affects cooling, if you're gonna romp on it w/ocing, I'd look into this. Air cooling is well more than enough, I've built 2 boxes on this cpu and used the Noctua NH-U12S on both, but neither were being oc'd. The cooler can take another fan for a 3-5 degrees extra cooling capacity. If you prefer black, they now offer the cooler in black.

What is your boot drive gonna be and have you plans to take advantage of pcie 4.0? Both builds I did were on this mobo and both with this as the boot/progs drive with either a sata ssd or hdd as data storage.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 04:31 PM   #12
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
Ok, how many hdd's you gonna have, what gpu and planned upgrade for it do you have in mind, what cooling solution are you planning on? That gen architecture has teh ccx's off-center and it affects cooling, if you're gonna romp on it w/ocing, I'd look into this. Air cooling is well more than enough, I've built 2 boxes on this cpu and used the Noctua NH-U12S on both, but neither were being oc'd. The cooler can take another fan for a 3-5 degrees extra cooling capacity. If you prefer black, they now offer the cooler in black.

What is your boot drive gonna be and have you plans to take advantage of pcie 4.0? Both builds I did were on this mobo and both with this as the boot/progs drive with either a sata ssd or hdd as data storage.


Probably 2, Boot drive will be a samsung 860 EVO 500gb SSD

Secondary storage is a regular barracuda 1tb hard drive. I can buy something else if it will really help performance? SSD prices are affordable these days.

GPU for now is a EVGA GTX 980 Ti hybrid. (build in water cooler) Later down the road Im hoping to get into a newer card but not sure what yet.

Ive got a corsair CPU water cooler with 3, 120mm fans. I already had it, im lost on if I should use it or not. https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...xoCnSMQAvD_BwE

I do not plan on OC any of it.

This sounds bad but what is pcie 4.0?

Last edited by inline 6; 02-17-2021 at 04:36 PM.
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2021, 07:22 PM   #13
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 15,127
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

That cooler will do you nicely, if you're gaming on it and when direct access storage comes to fruition on PC, pcie4 ssd will make game loads stupid fast. It enables reads of nearly 8GB/s and writes close to 6, iirc. Until then, it's pointless for gaming, but great if you're running vms and doin high i/o workloads.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 04:54 AM   #14
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,691
Default

Don't know if you've already bought, but computer guy opinions are a dime a dozen so here's mine:

Never had any luck with AMD. Only problems. Whenever I get the bright idea to stray away from Nvidia and intel, it's only a matter of time before I regret it. Never fails I run into "You can't do that" or "There's a driver issue!" or "Amd doesn't do well with x". After lots of that I'm just going to go ahead and stay away. I'm not a fanboy, I keep trying them for this or that and it keeps ending badly. And the problems keep being solved by just using intel.

Course you'll find this debate going on for eternity on any overclocking forum, so take it for what it's worth.
__________________
WAH HA!
Gasser64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 04:24 PM   #15
inline 6
IN GOD WE TRUST
 
inline 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
That cooler will do you nicely, if you're gaming on it and when direct access storage comes to fruition on PC, pcie4 ssd will make game loads stupid fast. It enables reads of nearly 8GB/s and writes close to 6, iirc. Until then, it's pointless for gaming, but great if you're running vms and doin high i/o workloads.
Should I get this http://der8auer.com/ryzen-3000-oc-bracket/ to use in conjunction with my cooler or am I good as is?
inline 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.