DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2019, 08:37 AM   #1
Stephen
Extremely custom title
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spogtown
Posts: 13,241
Default Help me pick a decent desktop please

My father asked me to find him a more current new or like new pc and this place helped me find a kick ass laptop (thanks txredneck). his pc is pretty old and he wants to replace with something that is a little more current (amd phenom ii 970 is what he’s currently using). He’s an accountant and mainly uses quickbooks and excel. His requirements would be an ssd drive, and a TB or so of storage, and a few USB ports (front and back) and maybe one of the newer USB ports too(type c or whatever). He’s hoping to stay under $600-700 for a new/used/refurb tower no need for monitor and accessories.. He will purchase office and QB separately after the computer.. thanks for any input
__________________
"PSH!!!"

Last edited by Stephen; 03-15-2019 at 08:47 AM.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 09:14 AM   #2
Shaggin Wagon
Shaggin'
VIP Member
 
Shaggin Wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Colony
Posts: 6,165
Default

I'd buy optixplex 9010 for about $180-200 off ebay, you can add the storage easily. I made a good gaming computer out of one for $450 bucks
Shaggin Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:20 AM   #3
ram57ta
Lifer
 
ram57ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 7,968
Default

I'd go the Craigslist route and look for any of the Dell, HP, Lenovo or similar workstations with i5 or i7 and Windows 10 installed and just use his monitor and peripherals. Microcenter also has some good tower only Win 10 desktops that I was looking at a few days ago...unfortunately none of them come with SSD drives installed which I think should be standard these days...they make a HUGE difference in speed.
ram57ta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:23 AM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,381
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Gimmea few and I'll look as well.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:31 AM   #5
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,381
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...sktop-computer + https://www.microcenter.com/product/...id-state-drive
You'll want to image the spinner to the m.2, then format the spinner and map user dirs to it. It's simple and will make for better quality of life.

Last edited by Tx Redneck; 03-15-2019 at 11:39 AM.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:46 AM   #6
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,343
Default

I don't think you can use "1 TB SSD drive" and "under $600" in the same sentence.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 06:48 AM   #7
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,381
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeG. View Post
I don't think you can use "1 TB SSD drive" and "under $600" in the same sentence.
Sure you can, look at my post.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 11:31 PM   #8
Stephen
Extremely custom title
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spogtown
Posts: 13,241
Default

What do you guys think of this one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Deskto...temCondition=4
__________________
"PSH!!!"
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:43 AM   #9
ram57ta
Lifer
 
ram57ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 7,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
What do you guys think of this one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Deskto...temCondition=4
Wouldn't be a bad system but seems a bit overpriced.
ram57ta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:59 AM   #10
Magnus
Lifer
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13,545
Default

Where do you put the 2080ti in that one?
__________________
Magnus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 12:03 PM   #11
ram57ta
Lifer
 
ram57ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 7,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
Where do you put the 2080ti in that one?
Just by looking at the tower and not knowing what the actual model number is I would be led to believe that you won't be able to run a dedicated video card as it probably doesn't have a slot for one. Also wonder if it has any other expansion slots...I have a wifi card and a digital TV tuner in my shop computer and also run a dedicated EVGA 210 low profile video card over the built in video.
ram57ta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 12:12 PM   #12
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
Sure you can, look at my post.
Dang, I didn't realize prices had come down that much.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 06:22 PM   #13
LS1Goat
Lifer
 
LS1Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: D/FW
Posts: 13,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
What do you guys think of this one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Deskto...temCondition=4
That's a good price considering the specs; i5 CPU, Windows 10 Pro, SSD+1 TB HD, etc.. The seller is authorized seller with 70,000+ 100% positive feedback ratings. 14 day return policy.

Dell Optiplex are pretty good business desktops. At least in my experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram57ta View Post
Just by looking at the tower and not knowing what the actual model number is I would be led to believe that you won't be able to run a dedicated video card as it probably doesn't have a slot for one. Also wonder if it has any other expansion slots...I have a wifi card and a digital TV tuner in my shop computer and also run a dedicated EVGA 210 low profile video card over the built in video.
You can run a discrete card on that model.

Large chassis Dell 920 Optiplex
https://www.dell.com/lv/business/p/o...020-desktop/pd
LS1Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:59 PM   #14
fordracing19
Lifer
 
fordracing19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sanger TX
Posts: 10,166
Default

My brother just picked up one of these a few weeks ago.

2018 HP Gaming Desktop - Virtual... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JHCH9TQ...p_mob_ap_share

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
2015 F250 Platinum
fordracing19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 08:37 AM   #15
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,381
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
What do you guys think of this one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Deskto...temCondition=4
The one I posted will run circles around it and will be new w/new system warranty.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 12:42 AM   #16
renold5
Punk Ass Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 55
Default

You can also find good deals on newegg.
renold5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.