First paint job in progress......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First paint job in progress......

Soooo.... I'm about ready to paint my '88 coupe, and I had some quick questions. This is my first attempt at a paint job, so I realize it won't be stellar.

I've got the surface wet sanded to 600 and I plan to shoot base white and clear coat, and the trim and moldings (including the moulding on the bumper covers) will be factory black.

Q1: how important is a sealer? I've got plenty of base, do I really need to seal it?

Q2: how should I paint my black/white on the bumpers? Should I mask off the primered surface and shoot the black, then mask and shoot white, then clear the whole thing? Or shoot white and clear with moulding masked and shoot black last, w/o clear?

It's hard to pull the trigger and spray $300 worth of paint. I hope my prep work will yield decent results, but I'm a newb to paint. I just don't want to see a whole shit ton of scratches in the end. I can deal with a few blemishes, its not a show car. I'll be putting one of those together in a few weeks, after someone else paints it.

I would use a good white sealer, covers in 1 coat and will not let anything bleed through. Paint everything white then come back and do all of the black. Shoot the sealer w/ a 1.3 and try to spray a lean coat(you want it covered but not so thick that you have a lot of texture). Most peoples orange peel in a paint job comes from the sealer.

Comment

Make sure when you're sanding not to sand with your fingers, flat palm. Also, use a good cloth to wipe everything down before spraying to get any dust off of the surface.

Comment

Originally posted by sdun View Post