DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2019, 12:13 PM   #1
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,428
Default Who has AT&T Fiber?

Currently have Spectrum Cable for internet but called AT&T last night about upgrading my phone and the rep talked to me about AT&T Fiber. Honestly wasn't sure it was available in my area as I live out in the "hood" and I'm limited on options.

So they have 3 different options; 100MB, 300MB, and 1000MB with the top one not having a data cap. Honestly, that kinda puts me off with their 1TB data cap as I work from home and remote into the office and doa lot of audio and videio conferencing. But if I remember correctly, if I get their TV package as well it removes the data cap on the slower packages.

The rare outages I've had lately with Spectrum are becoming more frequent and at the worse time. Like usually in the morning when I'm starting my day working. And it's usually fixed by the afternoon but it's after I drove an hour into the office (late) to start working.

So anyone have this service? What do you like/hate about it?
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 12:19 PM   #2
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,011
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

You probably wont hit their data cap. Most routers have a bandwidth chart that shows you monthly usage, and I think spectrum has that built into their website you can check.

I have Frontier fiber. Its ok.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 12:23 PM   #3
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,428
Default

Hmm.. I'll have to check it out.

For price comparison, what speed do you have with Frontier and what does it cost yoU?
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 03:09 PM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,531
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose View Post
Hmm.. I'll have to check it out.

For price comparison, what speed do you have with Frontier and what does it cost yoU?
I have their 200/200mbit at my house for $72 and some change a month.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 03:47 PM   #5
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,011
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose View Post
Hmm.. I'll have to check it out.

For price comparison, what speed do you have with Frontier and what does it cost yoU?
I have 150/150, i think its $70 a month. I am going to check and see if I can get more.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 11:07 AM   #6
ram57ta
Lifer
 
ram57ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 8,015
Default

A friend of mine in Midlothian just switched over the fiber and its pretty damn fast....I clocked his wifi at almost 300mbps down...compared to my 35mbps on Charter Spectrum (I have the most basic $14.99 service they offer). If I wanted speed and had multiple 4k TV's that were streaming constantly I would get it....but to be honest...I despise AT&T and would rather have NO service than deal with their bullshit.
ram57ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 12:16 PM   #7
Rick Modena
Cockasaurusmex
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Still not luvin da police...
Posts: 32,868
Default

Damn, you mofos have good shit, I'm still rolling on 15/5, lmfao!!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverback View Post
Look all you want, she can't find anyone else who treats her as bad as I do, and I keep her self esteem so low, she wouldn't think twice about going anywhere else.
Rick Modena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 12:58 PM   #8
Chas_svo
86 SVO 344rwhp 'n gaining
VIP Member
 
Chas_svo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Driving the car that just passed you...
Posts: 4,256
Default

Most WiFi won’t support the speeds the gigabit svc provides. Several in our house have 200 and 300MB limits on the card. Orvweall, it is fast, but it is AT&T and they suck. I haven’t seen anything better...yet.
__________________
13 DIB Premium GT, M6, Track Pack, Glass Roof, Nav, Recaros - Daily
86 SVO
'03 F150 supercrew
01 TJ - new toy (gone)
65 F100 (460 + C6) - Sold, 3/21/13
Chas_svo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 01:02 PM   #9
Rafa
Lifer
 
Rafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,139
Default

Best i can get is 50/10
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 01:15 PM   #10
Silverback
It's all in the reflexes
 
Silverback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: On the Road
Posts: 18,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abecx View Post
I have 150/150, i think its $70 a month. I am going to check and see if I can get more.
I'm 150/150 out here and i pay 64/mo, I was 43/mo for the first 12 months.
Silverback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 02:19 PM   #11
bcoop
Lifer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 41,892
Default

Not available in my area. And for the record, FUCK AT&T. They’re goddamn impossible to deal with. I wouldn’t switch even if it was available.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradM View Post
But, just like condoms and women's rights, I don't believe in them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah View Post
In other news: Brent's meat melts in your mouth.
bcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 02:32 PM   #12
Chili
Joe Blow
VIP Member
 
Chili's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1975
Location: Euless
Posts: 24,539
Default

We have AT&T, and it's pretty good. We get issues once in a while, but overall I'm happy with it. We have the terabyte plan and depending on the device and time of day, 300 - 400 is normal.





BTW, I do work from home and VPN periodically. Also do Skype screen sharing and gotomeeting, usually without issue.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20190312-152942.jpg (5.7 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20190312-153510.jpg (6.3 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by Chili; 03-12-2019 at 02:40 PM.
Chili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 06:23 PM   #13
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3,933
Default

Didn't like it. Imo you'll be a lot happier staying with charter. I went back to them from att fiber after awhile. Seemed slower. I paid for the one that was closest to what I had with charter. Which iirc, was the 60mbps download, 5mbps upload. At that time. Not really sure what it is now.

The weird thing with charter is, for some reason it was always higher than what you were paying for. Or what they said you were going to be paying for. Maybe its some kind of feel good marketing tactic. But for example, now I pay for 60mbps download from charter. I've seen it hit 100mbps from time to time. Back when they still offered 30mbps, I'd sometimes see it hit 70mbps.
__________________
WAH HAA!
Gasser64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.