DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > The Garage > Tech

Tech Automotive Tech, Ford, Chevy, if it's tech, it's in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2018, 01:59 PM   #21
JV106
Time Served
 
JV106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Default

How did they hook it up as a 3 wire? My one wire, only has a hook up for ‘one wire’.
JV106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 02:09 PM   #22
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Its a GM 10si, so it still has the 2 wire connection but it's normally covered with a rubber plug. Just remove the plug to reveal the connections and connect it to the machine. Did it affect the testing? IDK. But they had no idea how to hook it up otherwise
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 04:47 PM   #23
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Made a new 4ga positive wire for the alternator - same weird results. 15-16 v at the alternator but 14.5 v at the battery.

I even attached a wire to the voltage sensing post and hooked that up with no changes.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 10:36 AM   #24
slow84lx
Lifer
 
slow84lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,906
Default

Your Ford Torino is letting you know that it doesn't like GM parts on it.

It seems like you have a wire or connection problem somewhere. Recheck everything.
slow84lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 03:31 PM   #25
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Lol, I'm close to putting a new 3g on it like SVO suggested but I hate to just throw money at the problem with no promise of a resolution.

I checked everything I can think of. Battery has a good connections. Its grounded to the body in the trunk with 2ga wire and a 2ga positive running to the front.

The engine has two 4ga grounds now. It previously only had one but I added a second just in case. The alternator has a new 4ga positive wire. Without the engine running it gets the same voltage as what I measure across the battery posts. I think I might swing by the alternator place in the morning and have them confirm it's correct.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 08:28 AM   #26
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

I took it back to the alternator place and we'll see what they say
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 08:38 AM   #27
svauto-erotic855
I know everything, I'm older than you
VIP Member
 
svauto-erotic855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6,435
Default

What are you using to measure the voltage with?
__________________
Magnus, I am your father. You need to ask your mother about a man named Calvin Klein.
svauto-erotic855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 06:03 PM   #28
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Multimeter
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 08:55 PM   #29
slow84lx
Lifer
 
slow84lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torinoman View Post
I took it back to the alternator place and we'll see what they say
Was the alternator place able to determine the problem and get it working correctly?
slow84lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 01:34 PM   #30
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

The guy seemwd puzzled but he changed the rotor thinking that might fix it. I havent had a chance to install it and test it out.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 07:49 AM   #31
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

So I finally had a minute to slap it in and test again this morning.

Again, the battery reads a steady 14.6 while running.

The positive junctions at the front of the car are getting 15-16.

The post on the alternator is all over the place. Like, jumping up to 20v and then back down to 10.

Again, reading this with a multimeter. I've even confirmed with two different meters.

I wonder if I have some other wiring issue is causing this problem.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 05:01 PM   #32
JV106
Time Served
 
JV106's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 261
Default

Can you borrow that type of alternator from autozone? In my head it has to be the alternator.
JV106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 10:24 AM   #33
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Since its a One-Wire aftermarket alternator, no.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 04:32 PM   #34
svauto-erotic855
I know everything, I'm older than you
VIP Member
 
svauto-erotic855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6,435
Default

You have a faulty internal ground inside of the alternator. It doesn't have a correct reference to what 0 volts is and it is trying to keep the voltage at the level set by the voltage reg.

Buy a new one and stop screwing with this one.
__________________
Magnus, I am your father. You need to ask your mother about a man named Calvin Klein.
svauto-erotic855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 05:46 PM   #35
4EyedTurd
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,094
Default

Why not throw a 3G on it? It’s only a 2 wire hookup and you can buy em from any parts store.
4EyedTurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 06:52 PM   #36
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svauto-erotic855 View Post
You have a faulty internal ground inside of the alternator. It doesn't have a correct reference to what 0 volts is and it is trying to keep the voltage at the level set by the voltage reg.

Buy a new one and stop screwing with this one.
I was really trying to avoid plopping down 200+ for a new one. Can the ground not be repaired?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4EyedTurd View Post
Why not throw a 3G on it? Itís only a 2 wire hookup and you can buy em from any parts store.
It may come to that
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 10:10 PM   #37
svauto-erotic855
I know everything, I'm older than you
VIP Member
 
svauto-erotic855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torinoman View Post
I was really trying to avoid plopping down 200+ for a new one. Can the ground not be repaired?
Trying to fix it is throwing good money at bad. Double check your ground from the alternators case to the negative battery terminal before you buy a new one. It should be no higher than 4tenths of an ohm.
__________________
Magnus, I am your father. You need to ask your mother about a man named Calvin Klein.

Last edited by svauto-erotic855; 02-15-2018 at 10:50 PM.
svauto-erotic855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 07:16 AM   #38
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Is the case not grounded through the mount to the engine?
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 07:38 AM   #39
svauto-erotic855
I know everything, I'm older than you
VIP Member
 
svauto-erotic855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6,435
Default

It is but you are measuring the total resistance back the the battery terminal. Have someone tug on the ground cable while you are taking the measurement.

What you are describing is caused by bad grounds or a rectifier bridge failing.

Try measuring A/C voltage out of the backside of the alternator.
__________________
Magnus, I am your father. You need to ask your mother about a man named Calvin Klein.
svauto-erotic855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 11:19 AM   #40
Torinoman
when I get around to it
 
Torinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Richardson
Posts: 2,223
Default

Ah, I'll give it a try or just say fuck it and do what everyone suggested and get a high amp 3g from autozone.
__________________
1971 Ford Torino - Time to go bigger and better.

2011 F150 Limited - Stock with a 6.2
Torinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
svo fixed-now u owe him

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.