Harbor Freight - Too good to be true?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Harbor Freight - Too good to be true?

Ive been in need of a Torque Wrench for some time. I come from a family of men that all have Snap-On / Blue Point / Matco .... SO, when i look for tools, thats what i search for first... Used and on CL...

I have a hard time paying 150.00 for a used TQ Wrench though..

I went to Harbor Freight yesterday and damn near fell out..

10.99 For a 1/2 TQ Wrench with a lifetime warranty ?

Now, my only other question is, Is it accurate ?

I loaded up on Zip ties too ... cant ever have too many zip ties.

For the occasional shade tree mechanic it will be fine. If I was a paid professional or had a race car I wouldn't rely on it.

Comment

Why should you be surprised, Harbor Freight is cheap garbage.

Comment

Comment

I have the same tq wrench. 3 years without any issues. A lot of ppl hate on HF... But I've usually had good luck with their stuff. Is it snap on? No. But it's not snap on price either.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 4

Comment

Originally posted by danielhv View Post
            I have the same tq wrench. 3 years without any issues. A lot of ppl hate on HF... But I've usually had good luck with their stuff. Is it snap on? No. But it's not snap on price either.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 4
            Me too, I don't know why the hate on HF tools. Some of the stuff they sell is utter crap. But their Pittsburgh line of tools are great. My favorites are the ratcheting box end wrenches. Man those helped with the A/C installation on my 66'.

Comment

well that is interesting.
              "If I asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses." - Henry Ford

Comment

Their decently accurate but the one I had was off by about 25-30ft/lbs after a year of use.

Comment

I also purchased a $199.99 ( original cost ) Compressor, 1.8 HP / 150 PSI / 17 Gallon OPEN BOX for $ 75.00 !!