Getting back into overseas contracting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting back into overseas contracting

Not sure how to start but I am kind of excited and can't hold it in. For those that know me, you know that I had been working overseas since 2006. I took a 9 month break in 2012 but went back with my previous employer until I came home last August under unfavorable terms.

Since February this year, I have been in contact with my former director. Well, persistence has paid off. We have been talking about bringing me back. I wanted to go back to Afghanistan but was willing to go wherever he had a place for me. He has been discussing a plan to move me into the Security Manager position for the country of South Sudan. There is already a guy there who I know real well but he was going to move to Somalia on a new contract, still under the same director.

We talked on Wednesday about me filling in in Sudan next month while that guy went on leave but nothing more than 30 days of work. A tough gamble to quit my current job with no bird in the hand afterwards. I mentioned off hand that I wouldn't mind going to Somalia to stand up their project there until the manager in Sudan was ready to go.

On Friday he contacted me and said he put in a by name requisition for me to take the Somalia project entirely. It is only a 7 month contract but there is a possibility of an extension and they are bidding more work in africa too. So there is a long game but I have to get back into the family again.

I should have a more solid answer in 2 weeks on the official details. I would have loved to have more details when he called Friday but he was sitting in the airport waiting to fly out of the country. Luckily I know where he is heading and he wants me to call him in a few days to talk more.