DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2017, 02:09 PM   #1
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default Any of you have any raspberry pi's you dont want?

I am wanting to up together a cluster of them to play around with distributed processing. I was going to buy 10 of the pi3, but thought I'd try around here first in case any of you just want to get rid of them for some cash.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 10:59 AM   #2
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Alright, I went ahead and bought 12 more rpi3's. The processors on these is so much better than the 2's. I'll have a nice 48 core 48 gb ram cluster for parallel processing tasks.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 11:01 AM   #3
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,874
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

At some point, your boss is gonna get sick of all your computing hardware.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 11:05 AM   #4
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

I run my own company called The Gestalt Group, LLC ( I got Gestalt from transformers, it means the sum of the parts is greater than them individually, aka Devastator, Bruticus, etc... ), so like all tech purchases, I went ahead and approved it.

I'm building this for some personal processing stuff where I need a ton of cores. I probably could have bought 2 used Dell with 24 threads each for about the same price, but these pi's use very small amounts of power and dont need fans. My power consumption will probably be 30 watts at max usage.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 07:46 PM   #5
Trip McNeely
DRILL BABY, DRILL!!!
 
Trip McNeely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 37,893
Default

I have a Gibson you might want.
Trip McNeely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 09:02 PM   #6
BradM
Bad Santa
 
BradM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,400
Default

I'm too stupid to have any input on what is being discussed. Thanks.
BradM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 09:36 PM   #7
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradM View Post
I'm too stupid to have any input on what is being discussed. Thanks.
one naked girl is good but ten naked girls is great
scootro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 08:18 PM   #8
red89notch
Lifer
 
red89notch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,115
Default

Sounds like one hell of a nice porn box you built.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marisa View Post
we women are all irrational and emotional and insane...some just hide it better than others.

truth.
red89notch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 07:57 AM   #9
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Cluster setup, created an ldap server and installed ansible on hosts. Havent distributed any tasks yet, curious to see if it'll be worth it or not. Yes, my daughter helped me.

abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 10:24 AM   #10
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,709
Default

pretty cool! i wanna see a picture when its all hooked up. wire management is gonna be interesting
scootro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 12:00 PM   #11
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootro View Post
pretty cool! i wanna see a picture when its all hooked up. wire management is gonna be interesting
its nothing fancy. Since I am not doing large data sets, I am using the WiFI to keep it clean and because I already have a rats nest of cables. I do have access to a 24 port switch next to rpi's, but the pi's only do 100MBps. Currently I dont see any need for the increased throughput or decreased latency.





The box on the left is my machine learning/development server and the one on the right is my 8x 4TB file server ( with 6x 500G ssd for quick access stuff ). I have a monster 40 something port SAS card in the file server with dedicated 6GBps sata channels. I max out PCI bus speed on that.

I use 10Gb copper cables which are thick as fuck for the network between my physical servers, makes it a pain in the ass to make anything look clean.

abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 05:30 PM   #12
Stephen
RESIDENT RICER
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spogtown
Posts: 12,627
Default

I have no idea what that is, but it looks expensive and I probably shouldn't touch it.. lol
__________________
"PSH!!!"
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 07:09 PM   #13
Trip McNeely
DRILL BABY, DRILL!!!
 
Trip McNeely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 37,893
Default

Cruz just make sure you don't get the DaVinci virus.
Trip McNeely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 07:18 PM   #14
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,709
Default

thats so freaking cool! thanks for the pics
scootro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 08:34 PM   #15
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,874
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

How do you manage heat generation from all your hardware?
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 08:47 PM   #16
Craizie
Cracka
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,087
Default

Pretty cool setup
Craizie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 09:58 PM   #17
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
How do you manage heat generation from all your hardware?
To be honest, the setup doesn't put out much heat. Even when I have say 6 users transcoding on plex, and having some heavy machine learning tasks going on the temperature stays about the same. However when I am gaming, that video card will pump the heat out for sure.

I'm a big proponent of the theory that hardware doesn't die from heat. Power cycling, spinning up and down, and dirty power play a far greater role than the temperature ( within respect ). I do try and keep fans on vital parts to move the hot air away and that works wonders compared to ambient.

The data closet will easily hit 80 degrees during the day if I'm doing a lot of shit, but otherwise its just as cool as the rest of the house, albeit its really dry in there ( I might put a humidifier upstairs for winter ).

I'll make a video real quick, my office/closet are a mess right now so no judging. I dont like having the cases off computers, but there just isnt enough time in the day to do all the things I want sometimes

abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 10:07 PM   #18
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,874
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Man, my 3770k will hit low 70's when I get a lot of transcoding goin on. I don't have it set to scale down the clocks at idle and frankly, it rarely does. I was doin some bitcoin mining on my RX480 and I remembered real quick how much heat a gpu could generate, so I nixed that for the summer months, but w/AMD's Wattmon set to scale the fan up to 75% with temps in excess of 79c, it was keeping the side of my printer rather toasty.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 08:04 AM   #19
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,864
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

I wish plex offered hardware based transcoding, that would fix your heat issues for sure, and would allow me to stream way more than the amount of CPU cores I have. Its honestly a little archaic that Plex doesnt have that ability yet seeing as most video cards, even on board ones, can transcode now at a far lower power usage.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 09:19 AM   #20
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,874
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Agreed, I've oft wondered why they haven't implemented gpu based transcoding.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
smart dildos ftw, svo pc=1.21 niggawatts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.