DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2017, 07:52 PM   #1
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,050
Default Wanted: Linux freaks

I'm hoping someone here can lend a hand with an application I'm trying to install on Kali Linux.

I'm basically following a set of instructions to set up RVM, Ruby, Passenger, and probably a few other things and I keep running into issues. Latest road block is when trying to install Ruby. I enter 'rvm install 2.1.5' but end up with an error

Searching for binary rubies, this might take some time.
No binary rubies available for: kali/kali-rolling/x86_64/ruby-2.1.5
Continuing with compilation. please read 'rvm help mount' to get more information on binary rubies
Checking requirements for Kali.
Installing requirements for Kali.
Updating System.. There has been an error while updating your system using 'apt-get'
It seems there are some 404 Not Found errors for repositories listed in:

/etc.apt/sources.list
/etc/apt/sources.list.d/*.list

Make sure that all the repositories are avail from your system and verify your setup by running manually:

sudo apt-get update

"Error running 'requirements_debian_update_system ruby -2.1.5', please read /usr/local/rvm/log/1510537389_ruby-2.1.5/update_system.log
Requirements installation failed with status: 100"

Trying to learn Linux via Google has been challenging to say the least. I'm basically using two sources to try and crawl through this.

https://www.phishingfrenzy.com/resou...all_kali_linux
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...&v=RWLDz-73NV8

Any penguin heads willing to lend a hand?

Last edited by GeorgeG.; 11-12-2017 at 08:00 PM.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 07:04 AM   #2
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,637
Default

I think there are a couple of linux guys around here, but I believe you'll have much better luck if you ask here:

http://www.overclock.net/f/131/linux-unix

Tons of salivating linux fanboys there.
__________________
WAAAHH HA HA HA HAAAA!!!
Gasser64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 10:16 AM   #3
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

When you're trying to get help, you need to paste the command you're running that generates the error message for context.

In particular for this output, it sounds like just and apt install, but it helps to clarify.
Code:
Searching for binary rubies, this might take some time.
No binary rubies available for: kali/kali-rolling/x86_64/ruby-2.1.5
Continuing with compilation. please read 'rvm help mount' to get more information on binary rubies
Checking requirements for Kali.
Installing requirements for Kali.
Updating System.. There has been an error while updating your system using 'apt-get'
Why not use Ubuntu instead of Kali Linux?

Last edited by abecx; 11-13-2017 at 10:49 AM.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 11:00 AM   #4
LS1Goat
Lifer
 
LS1Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: D/FW
Posts: 13,574
Default

My enterprise experience is running Apache servers utilizing Linux CentOS. Like Abecx said. You need to post the specific command that is creating the error.
LS1Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:11 PM   #5
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,050
Default

the main reason is that I'm not Linux savy. I'm working to install PhishingFrenzy and since someone posted a video and step-by-step link would make it painless and easy. I'm slowly making progress. I made it to the 'passenger-install-apache2-module' and It's telling me I need to more dependencies before completing. It was three but I resolved one. I need 'apache2-threaded-dev' and 'libaprutil1-dev'.

I'd cut/paste the info but the connection on that box is ridiculously slow for some reason.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 02:54 PM   #6
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

You're asking for help to install a phishing email manager? Why?
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 03:38 PM   #7
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,050
Default

lol, I'm planning to create a phishing awareness campaign for our users. This program can send out fake phishing email and give reports on who clicks it. We can use this to gauge the effectiveness of our awareness efforts.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 04:18 PM   #8
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

If this is a dedicated machine, you really dont need RVM. RVM is just an environment manager so you can run multiple versions of Ruby with different gems/configs.

I need access to your machine to help more, it looks like probably bad entries in source list.
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 03:28 PM   #9
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,050
Default

thanks for the offer. It may come to that if it doesn't work but so far I'm slowly making progress. It's been a lot of trial and error so whether or not PF works when I'm done will tell me if I completely f'd this up.

Can you tell me how I edit the database.yml? I need to change the username and password to what I set when I ran # MYSQL -u username -p. The database.yml file has a different username and password. This is what I get but I don't know how to change it.

[cat config/database.yml
# MySQL. Versions 4.1 and 5.0 are recommended.
#
# Install the MYSQL driver
# gem install mysql2
#
# Ensure the MySQL gem is defined in your Gemfile
# gem 'mysql2'
#
# And be sure to use new-style password hashing:
# http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/old-client.html
development:
adapter: mysql2
encoding: utf8
reconnect: false
database: pf_dev
pool: 25
username: pf_dev
password: password
host: localhost
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 04:00 PM   #10
GeorgeG.
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Alstyne
Posts: 5,050
Default

I think I got it... Trying to reload Apache, I think this has to be done for it to take affect....

Well, I'm still missing something. I restarted Apache (read that somewhere) and MySQL after edited the database.yml from a text editor and when I run 'cat config/database.yml' it still shows the default username and password it created.

Last edited by GeorgeG.; 11-16-2017 at 09:21 AM.
GeorgeG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 10:49 AM   #11
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,917
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Nice work, have fun with the spamming!
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.