AR-15 for home defense

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AR-15 for home defense

What ammo would you use? I usually keep a couple of magazines loaded for "social purposes" but it's all FMJ.

I have some frangible (think that's the right term) I once bought for that purpose, but ultimately hand and shotguns are still in place for that purpose.

For record - I'm no expert just seemed logical that it would not exit a stone and brick home.
    Originally posted by MR EDD
    U defend him who use's racial slurs like hes drinking water.

Comment

AR wouldn't be my first choice for home defense simply because I am not aware of any ammo that won't penetrate thru multiple layers of drywall, and I have a family. I can't remember the brand off the top of my head, but I have my 12 gauge loaded with the first three rounds a home defense ammo that is not supposed to penetrate drywall, and the next three buckshot in case the first three don't do it. Buckshot will penetrate, but it should be slowed down more than 5.56, in theory. Backup to that is a 9mm that my wife should grab, but all this is in a perfect plan, so in all likelyhood I would be using the 12 gauge and then the cops show up to collect a description or a body.

That being said, strapped to the door of the safe is my 5.56 AR and it has 55 grain ammo loaded in it. But is more of a "massive terrorist attack suitcase nukes in an American city holy fuck there are massive riots and panic" type of backup, so in all likelyhood that ammo will be rotated on range trips.
      I don't like Republicans, but I really FUCKING hate Democrats.

Sex with an Asian woman is great, but 30 minutes later you're horny again.

Comment

300blk in 9” Barrel with 220gr subs and a can.

Comment

Originally posted by David View Post
          300blk in 9” Barrel with 220gr subs and a can.
          Ya, this, or 9" barrel 9mm with 147 grain and can.
          Originally posted by Broncojohnny
          HOORAY ME and FUCK YOU!