Smoked Turkey or Fried???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoked Turkey or Fried???

I'm thinking about smoking one this year, I've been frying one for almost 10 yrs. Thinking about smoking one instead of frying, thoughts?
    Originally posted by Silverback
    Look all you want, she can't find anyone else who treats her as bad as I do, and I keep her self esteem so low, she wouldn't think twice about going anywhere else.

No poll with Evil Jose as a choice???

I like both, but man it's hard to beat fried turkey. Could be that's because Thanksgiving is the only time I eat it. I'll have smoked turkey throughout the year.

Side note. The kids love when I fry a turkey. They take flaky, canned biscuits and peel the layers apart, drop them in the oil, watch the poof up, drain, to the plate, add powdered sugar... We called them elephant ears as a kid, but it's basically funnel cake in a can.

Comment

Smoked always tastes better as long as you dont dry it it out.

Fried is just waaaaay easier to get right.

Comment

Smoke and then fry it for 10 minutes

BOOM

Comment

brine it first, you'll love smoked.
          "If I asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses." - Henry Ford

Comment

If you smoke, brine fo sho.

I’ve lost my lust for fried turkey. I guess frying a few thousand over the years will do that to you. It’s really good right out of the fryer, but it doesn’t reheat well, and I can replicate a fried turkey out of a combi oven. It reheats better, it has more flavor (we can inject the oven birds, but can’t inject the fried ones), and on the scale we do we can do it much more efficiently.
            Originally posted by BradM
            But, just like condoms and women's rights, I don't believe in them.
            Originally posted by Leah
            In other news: Brent's meat melts in your mouth.

Comment

I've always smoked mine, after brining and they turn out great.

Comment