DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2017, 11:40 PM   #1
Goku025
Time Served
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
Default hard drive specialist needed

- returned after 10 minutes and found the screen blank with the mouse pointer visible and the disk light flashing intermittently
- after a long wait, I did the ESC while rebooting and performed a diagnostic test
- memory was fine
- smart drive fine
- "Short DST-Failed: statement (followed by), 64NH53-GFX5RG-XD6W3F-60WV03 and Hard Disk 1 Quick
My key data is secure on a cloud site but my work environment is in jeopardy.
Questions:
- Is the drive unusable?
- Can anything be recovered?
- If recoverable, can I do this myself? if so, any recommendations?
- What is my best course of action?
Would greatly appreciate any assistance.
Thanks
Goku025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 01:44 AM   #2
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,189
Default

My opinion:

When this happens you're/its basically screwed. But you've got it backed up, so you're ok.

Those data recovery places have gone down in price dramatically. Been a while since I checked but a good while back they were like $3k, last time I checked they were like $300. Might be even lower now, as that was years ago.

I'd just put the drive in another computer and see if you can copy most of the data you want off of it, onto another drive. There always a chance that you can. If not its fucked and you'll have to send it off to get the data.

Physically: To do it yourself, you'd have to have an exact copy of that drive, that happened to have been produced inside the same two week period as that drive. That's how often they change the little boards and firmware on those drives. Then, you'd have to take those things apart, and I just wouldn't even try it. So to answer that question, no.

With software: Maybe, I'd check it out, there might be some awesome recovery tools out there these days. Never looked into it, but its worth a google search for sure.
__________________
WAAAHH HA HA HA HAAAA!!!
Gasser64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:20 AM   #3
Fastback
Time Served
 
Fastback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,163
Default

Sometimes it's worth a try to pull your RAM for 30 seconds, reinsert, reboot. I had a hard drive that failed, but for about a year before it completely gave up the ghost, I was able to pull my RAM and get it to work. Good luck.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Fastback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 05:04 AM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,889
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Stop using it, get a new drive and image the old one before it fails. I can help if you need, but I'm in Garland and it won't be till this weekend.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 06:33 AM   #5
Rafa
Lifer
 
Rafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,993
Default

Like brian stated. Stop using.

What i did when mine went cuckoo, is that i put it in freezer for a good while, took it out and plugged up as a "ext hd" and copied what i needed as quick as i could. I got about 85% of before it would go out. I couldnt get any more of it. Granted, i had tons of music, movies, so i think you "should" be able to get most if not all of it

Good luck
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 07:24 PM   #6
Goku025
Time Served
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
Default

Thanks for all the help i am going to try the freezer method. i tried hooking it up to a data transfer cable and nothing..how long should i keep it in the freezer and do i put it in a freezer bag or by itself?

TX redneck i live in austin man
Goku025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 08:32 AM   #7
Rafa
Lifer
 
Rafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,993
Default

I did this few years ago. I remember posting it on here. I vacuum sealed it and put in freezer for about an hour I think. Took it out and plugged up and grabbed what I could as fast as I could.

Worked for me at the time. Before the freezer, I could not get anything. It would stop about min into transferring. After freezer trick, I got most of it before it locked up. I tried to do it again and it would lock up lot quicker.
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 08:46 AM   #8
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,889
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

From a recovery specialist site

Quote:
1Remove the hard drive from the computer.
Place the hard drive inside of a zip top freezer bag. (don't buy a
cheap bag.)
Place the wrapped hard drive inside of ANOTHER zip top freezer bag.
(yes, you need to do this)
Place the double wrapped hard drive in the coldest part of your
freezer.
Leave the hard drive in the freezer for 12 hours at least. You want
it good and cold! (see figure 2 below)
Once very chilled, install the hard drive in your computer and
start pulling off data. Begin with the most valuable data.
At some point, the hard drive will fail again. When it does, mark
the last successfully copied data, pull out the hard drive, double wrap
it again and stick it in the Chill Chest for another 12 hours.
You may need to do this a number of times to get all the data you
want, or until the hard drive stops working completely.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.