DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2016, 05:20 PM   #1
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default Inexpensive desktop that would do good for video editing?

My YouTube channel has been doing pretty good and I want to get a dedicated desktop to do the editing on. I'm using an older Samsung laptop right now and it takes about 4hrs to render a 20min video. It's also not able to preview and part of a video that's sped up. Anyone have a good suggestion on something that would work well?
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 03:29 PM   #2
Ratt
Any eye L
 
Ratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frisco
Posts: 19,939
Send a message via AIM to Ratt
Default

Define inexpensive. And how old is your Samsung laptop, and what are its specs?
Ratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 08:45 AM   #3
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,888
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

Using a video card to render video is the new thing ( well for the last 6 years or so ).

In short, you can do this on the cheap if you build a cheap desktop ( nothing too fancy ) and spend the rest on a good/amazing video card that is compatible for rendering.

What application are you using for editing?
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 10:14 AM   #4
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,846
Default

whats your YouTube channel?
scootro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 10:45 AM   #5
Magnus
Lifer
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootro View Post
whats your YouTube channel?
xXxc0D_snyp3r_kn0w_skoP3xXx
__________________
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 11:08 AM   #6
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,899
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

^^^^
lmao
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 12:16 PM   #7
Craizie
Cracka
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,304
Default

Damnit Magnus!
Craizie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 12:02 PM   #8
Ratt
Any eye L
 
Ratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frisco
Posts: 19,939
Send a message via AIM to Ratt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talisman View Post
Damnit Magnus!
Who changed your screen name to talisman?
Ratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2016, 12:29 PM   #9
Craizie
Cracka
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratt View Post
Who changed your screen name to talisman?
Kyle did, after Don changed it to Captain can't make his tee time when I bitched out on him and then decided to talk shit to him with white text saying Please don't ban me!
Craizie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 01:48 PM   #10
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootro View Post
whats your YouTube channel?
https://www.youtube.com/user/sphinx4785
Or just type Stephen Cox in the yet search bar.
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 10:15 AM   #11
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,846
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen4785 View Post
https://www.youtube.com/user/sphinx4785
Or just type Stephen Cox in the yet search bar.
nice! good job on the vids


i liked...

How to drive a Caterpiller bulldozer D6K

Lincoln Ranger 250GXT mounting and FIRST START
scootro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:59 PM   #12
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratt View Post
Define inexpensive. And how old is your Samsung laptop, and what are its specs?
Less then $1000. Current one is a Samsung R730. The issue Im having right now is that I bought a new gopro and if I try to watch any of its videos or edit them I can hear the audio just fine but the video freezes and I can only see a frame every 10-20seconds.
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 08:00 PM   #13
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abecx View Post
Using a video card to render video is the new thing ( well for the last 6 years or so ).

In short, you can do this on the cheap if you build a cheap desktop ( nothing too fancy ) and spend the rest on a good/amazing video card that is compatible for rendering.

What application are you using for editing?
Adobe premier elements
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:25 AM   #14
abecx
Sup.
 
abecx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,888
Send a message via AIM to abecx
Default

I'm not a big fan of Adobe products ( because there is too fucking many of them ), so i'm not sure if APE supports it or not. Their website makes it sound as only Adobe Premier Pro supports CUDA and not Elements. It does sound like elements does support Intel hardware acceleration which is better than nothing I guess. If you have or can get Premier Pro, I would use that with a CUDA nVidia card.

http://atr935.blogspot.com/2015/08/p...eleration.html
abecx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:41 PM   #15
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default

So a friend of mine sent me this link http://www.microcenter.com/product/4...ry_Recertified
I dont know much about computers so I appreciate any advice.
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:37 PM   #16
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,899
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

That would work, but I'd opt for an nVidia gpu as I believe they're better supported for video editing.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:22 PM   #17
stephen4785
Lifer
 
stephen4785's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Benbrook
Posts: 9,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
That would work, but I'd opt for an nVidia gpu as I believe they're better supported for video editing.
Do you have any suggestions in what nvidia card to get for that desktop? I think I'm going to order it this week. I didn't realize that the desktop on microcenter says "ready for Radeon...". So I'd have to buy a graphics card separately. Is that still a good deal? Looks like the total would be around $680.
__________________
Mobile heavy equipment/diesel/fleet repair
stephen4785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:25 PM   #18
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,899
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

It already has a decent gpu, but if I'm not mistaken, Nvidia gpu's are better supported for video editing. That said, I couldn't make an honest recommendation without researching it.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:29 PM   #19
Craizie
Cracka
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen4785 View Post
Do you have any suggestions in what nvidia card to get for that desktop? I think I'm going to order it this week. I didn't realize that the desktop on microcenter says "ready for Radeon...". So I'd have to buy a graphics card separately. Is that still a good deal? Looks like the total would be around $680.
The one on micro center has a Radeon R9 370. It's saying that it is VR (virtual reality ) ready. It's comparable to a Nvida GTX 960. Both are very capable cards.


Intel Core i5-6400 Processor 2.7GHz
AMD Radeon R9 370 2GB VR Ready
8GB DDR4-2133 RAM
1TB 7,200RPM Hard Drive
Microsoft Windows 10 64-bit
SuperMulti DVDRW Drive
5-in-1 Memory Card Reader
10/100/1000 Network
802.11ac Wireless
Display Not Included
Craizie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 05:27 PM   #20
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,899
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Based on what I'm reading, a gtx1050 is considered the budget video editing card, a GTX1060 is a "powerhouse" for the task.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.