DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 12:42 PM   #1
Sgt Beavis
Lifer
 
Sgt Beavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 15,393
Default Antivirus recommendations

Hey fellas,

I've been using Kaspersky AV for a while but it's made web browsing unbearable and slows down my Surface Pro4 a bit too much, even though it is a core i5 with 8GB RAM.

I'm looking to try out Bit Defender. I've heard its performance is significantly better. Have any of you used it? What was your experience? Do you have any other suggestions? I used to like Avast but they've gone downhill IMO.

Thanks.
Sgt Beavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 12:44 PM   #2
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

PC MATIC from PC Pitstop is all I use anymore.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 01:12 PM   #3
Ratt
Any eye L
 
Ratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frisco
Posts: 19,878
Send a message via AIM to Ratt
Default

Bit Defender works well, even the free version is pretty good, but the install (about 3 years ago, anyway) was pretty invasive. We used it when I worked at a small MSP, and it was hell to remove when customers left our services or didn't want it anymore. I never saw any performance degradation related to it.
Ratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:13 PM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Here's their free version if you wanna try it. https://www.pcmatic.com/homesecurity/
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 10:55 PM   #5
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,737
Default

Avira still has the highest detection rate. But they'll spam you constantly. So I just run it, and uninstall it.
__________________
WAAAHH HA HA HA HAAAA!!!
Gasser64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 12:02 AM   #6
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasser64 View Post
Avira still has the highest detection rate. But they'll spam you constantly. So I just run it, and uninstall it.
Unfortunately, detection tends to be too late when mitigation matters. Give PC Matic a shot, you won't be disappointed.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 02:48 AM   #7
Gasser64
Lifer
 
Gasser64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,737
Default

Yeah I've been wanting to try it out. I'll give it a look soon.

I was thinking he already had something, and was trying to get rid of it, where a high detection rate may turn out to be beneficial
__________________
WAAAHH HA HA HA HAAAA!!!
Gasser64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 07:57 AM   #8
Silverback
Bourbon and 'Lacs
 
Silverback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: #brokesohard
Posts: 18,294
Default

are you running Windows 10? Turn on Defender and be done
Silverback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 10:01 AM   #9
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverback View Post
are you running Windows 10? Turn on Defender and be done
scootro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 10:20 AM   #10
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverback View Post
are you running Windows 10? Turn on Defender and be done
Quote:
Originally Posted by scootro View Post
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/windows-...view-2209.html

Is slightly better than nothing at all.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 02:19 PM   #11
line-em-up
N Memory of Mike 12/27/14
 
line-em-up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,709
Default

avg
line-em-up is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 02:19 PM   #12
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by line-em-up View Post
avg
Was purchased by Avast.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 02:35 PM   #13
Silverback
Bourbon and 'Lacs
 
Silverback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: #brokesohard
Posts: 18,294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/windows-...view-2209.html

Is slightly better than nothing at all.
he's in IT, and my take has always been that anyone who is in IT (technical role), should be able to tell what is and isn't spam/phishing/valid files...

I haven't run an Anti-virus since the 90s, until defender came with Windows 10. Never had a problem

Oh and stop looking at so much porn!
Silverback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 04:17 PM   #14
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/windows-...view-2209.html

Is slightly better than nothing at all.
i have defender, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, adwcleaner, and JRT
scootro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 04:54 PM   #15
line-em-up
N Memory of Mike 12/27/14
 
line-em-up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 10,709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
Was purchased by Avast.
I just got done updating mine. It didn't mention the change. Regardless it works great. I highly recommend it..
line-em-up is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 04:55 PM   #16
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 13,795
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

https://press.avast.com/avast-announ...re-avg-for-13b
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 08:32 AM   #17
black2002ls
Lifer
VIP Member
 
black2002ls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,321
Default

I've got an issue with the desktop I am using for my vinyl work.

Started on new years, it was sounding an alarm, constant tone. So I just turned it off to deal with another day. When I booted it up, it went to the safe mode screen, so I started windows normally thinking it was just some fluke. Get into windows, nothing will open. So I re-start, things work OK for a few minutes then BSOD and a physical memory dump.

Re-start again, safe mode, things seem to work OK.

Re-start again, safe mode with networking, download PCMATIC, but it wont work in safe mode. Re-start again and begin scan. At this time I notice Windows security manger or whatever it is, is now running. I do not recall ever turning it on. PCMATIC gets about 5% into scanning and computer crashes. After a couple of re-starts I get it to perform a full scan, 5 issues found, 3 deleted, 2 unable to repair. It is identifying explorer.exe as an issue and I am getting multiple instances (3) showing in a scan.

I've scanned several times, even downloaded additional AV's and ran them. Still getting the BSOD

This is a Dell optiplex 790 running WIN7 Pro that I have added some RAM into. Tonight I am going to pull the additional RAM and see if that fixes the issue.

Anyone have any insight into what might be going on? Any known issues? I tried a couple of google's and didn't return many recent responses.

I've got a spare SSD that I'm toying with the idea of loading a linux platform on and running everything from there to hopefully avoid this issue in the future.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah View Post
Best balls I've had in my mouth in a while.
black2002ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:15 PM   #18
scootro
Lifer
 
scootro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: none of your fuckin business
Posts: 13,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black2002ls View Post
I've got an issue with the desktop I am using for my vinyl work.

Started on new years, it was sounding an alarm, constant tone. So I just turned it off to deal with another day. When I booted it up, it went to the safe mode screen, so I started windows normally thinking it was just some fluke. Get into windows, nothing will open. So I re-start, things work OK for a few minutes then BSOD and a physical memory dump.

Re-start again, safe mode, things seem to work OK.

Re-start again, safe mode with networking, download PCMATIC, but it wont work in safe mode. Re-start again and begin scan. At this time I notice Windows security manger or whatever it is, is now running. I do not recall ever turning it on. PCMATIC gets about 5% into scanning and computer crashes. After a couple of re-starts I get it to perform a full scan, 5 issues found, 3 deleted, 2 unable to repair. It is identifying explorer.exe as an issue and I am getting multiple instances (3) showing in a scan.

I've scanned several times, even downloaded additional AV's and ran them. Still getting the BSOD

This is a Dell optiplex 790 running WIN7 Pro that I have added some RAM into. Tonight I am going to pull the additional RAM and see if that fixes the issue.

Anyone have any insight into what might be going on? Any known issues? I tried a couple of google's and didn't return many recent responses.

I've got a spare SSD that I'm toying with the idea of loading a linux platform on and running everything from there to hopefully avoid this issue in the future.
run these two things

https://www.malwarebytes.com/adwcleaner/

https://www.malwarebytes.com/junkwareremovaltool/


if that doesn't work then run this

https://www.malwarebytes.com/antirootkit/
scootro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:18 PM   #19
Gargamel
Eating Smurfette Since 07
 
Gargamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black2002ls View Post
I've got an issue with the desktop I am using for my vinyl work.

Started on new years, it was sounding an alarm, constant tone. So I just turned it off to deal with another day. When I booted it up, it went to the safe mode screen, so I started windows normally thinking it was just some fluke. Get into windows, nothing will open. So I re-start, things work OK for a few minutes then BSOD and a physical memory dump.

Re-start again, safe mode, things seem to work OK.

Re-start again, safe mode with networking, download PCMATIC, but it wont work in safe mode. Re-start again and begin scan. At this time I notice Windows security manger or whatever it is, is now running. I do not recall ever turning it on. PCMATIC gets about 5% into scanning and computer crashes. After a couple of re-starts I get it to perform a full scan, 5 issues found, 3 deleted, 2 unable to repair. It is identifying explorer.exe as an issue and I am getting multiple instances (3) showing in a scan.

I've scanned several times, even downloaded additional AV's and ran them. Still getting the BSOD

This is a Dell optiplex 790 running WIN7 Pro that I have added some RAM into. Tonight I am going to pull the additional RAM and see if that fixes the issue.

Anyone have any insight into what might be going on? Any known issues? I tried a couple of google's and didn't return many recent responses.

I've got a spare SSD that I'm toying with the idea of loading a linux platform on and running everything from there to hopefully avoid this issue in the future.
Try Malwarebytes and Malwarebytes chameleon at boot if needed.

Linux Mint is good if you want to delve into that world.
__________________
Gargamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:49 PM   #20
Craizie
Cracka
VIP Member
 
Craizie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10,824
Default

Is the sound coming from the mother board or through your speakers?
Craizie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.