DFW Mustangs    

Go Back   DFW Mustangs > General > Technology Rules

Technology Rules iPhone suxx, Q/A for all computer, networking, phone, and gaming issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2019, 09:41 AM   #1
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default Transferring Android Apps from one device to another

Got a new Android tablet (yes I actually use one) and there are a couple of apps on my old tablet that are no longer available that I would like to have on my new one.

I've Google'd and found some suggestions but always leery about installing third party apps from lesser known sites for fear of installing something malicious. Thoughts?
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:46 AM   #2
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,394
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

This might not xfer the apps data(game progress, etc), but it should allow you to xfer the app. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....appbackup.pro
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:58 AM   #3
LS1Goat
Lifer
 
LS1Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: D/FW
Posts: 13,685
Default

That^ or Titanium Backup Pro will do what your asking. Also, there are extra features available if your Android device allows you to access the built in hidden Developer options tab(model dependent). Been using Titanium for 7 years. Probably the most feature packed and sophisticated app I've ever seen for Android. There is a learning curve because it has so much capability and a dense GUI.

Last edited by LS1Goat; 05-31-2019 at 10:05 AM.
LS1Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:59 AM   #4
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,394
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Does TiBu not require root anymore?
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:59 AM   #5
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Thanks man! I'll give it a try here in a bit.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:01 AM   #6
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Ya can't root the new tablet (or my phone for that matter) as I use them for work. I have used TiBu in the past and although the GUI was old, worked well. Haven't looked into it because of no root.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:02 AM   #7
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Ya looks like TiBu still requires root for full functionality.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:05 AM   #8
LS1Goat
Lifer
 
LS1Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: D/FW
Posts: 13,685
Default

Yeah. Just checked as well. Root is still required. My bad.
LS1Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:49 AM   #9
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

No worries, it's a good suggestion. Just can't use it because I use this device for work.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 11:11 AM   #10
johnboy
Egotistical son bitch
VIP Member
 
johnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 284
Default

Alright guy's, don't flame me too bad. I'm not the most computer oriented guy. My samsung s7 came with a adapter to hook phones together to download everything from old phone to it. Would something like that work? I still have it if you can use it.
__________________

Last edited by johnboy; 05-31-2019 at 02:00 PM. Reason: Fat fingers
johnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 03:08 PM   #11
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

I honestly don't know if it would or not. Does it do a complete dump from one phone to the other? Or does it allow you to select what you want? What I need would be more of an app to get the APK (install) file so I can install it on the new tablet.

Haven't tried it yet, waiting till I'm done with work for the day to mess around with this.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:04 PM   #12
johnboy
Egotistical son bitch
VIP Member
 
johnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 284
Default

I honestly don't know how it worked, they did it at the verizon store. But everything on my old phone transferred over. It might be in the menu of the phone, I'll check and post
Its under accounts in settings, smart switch. My Samsung tablet has it
__________________
johnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:05 PM   #13
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tx Redneck View Post
This might not xfer the apps data(game progress, etc), but it should allow you to xfer the app. https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....appbackup.pro
So this is a stupid question. Once I buy this app, I should be able to use it on any of my devices without having to buy it again right?

I installed it on my new tablet earlier and just tried to do so on my phone and it's prompting me to buy it again.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:07 PM   #14
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,394
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

If you're signed in with the same account you purchased it with prior, you shouldn't have to purchase again.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:12 PM   #15
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

OK so phone is now showing it as an option to Install without buying but old tablet is still the same. Rebooted. Tried again, still prompting me to buy. Not in a big rush and I'll check it again later. But I'll probably just buy it again to get this out of the way.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:12 PM   #16
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,394
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

That's real odd, but if it doesn't work, you can get a refund if you do it quick enough.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:17 PM   #17
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Ya first time I ever had a problem with an app I purchased. Kinda curious now why it's happening.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:10 PM   #18
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Well it was weird and slow but it finally showed up as Install on my old tablet.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 09:56 AM   #19
Jose
Lifer
 
Jose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 48,394
Default

Worked like a charm! Thanks Tx Redneck!
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 10:07 AM   #20
Tx Redneck
Wannabe puter fixor
VIP Member
 
Tx Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On the straight and narrow,stumbling at best, only by Gods grace.
Posts: 14,394
Send a message via Skype™ to Tx Redneck
Default

Sahweet! Glad to hear man.
Tx Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.