Tips

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips

I'm new to cooking and I'm looking for some tips as to do's and don'ts. Is there anything that you more experienced folks can share with the newbs like myself?

Don't cut your fingers off.

Sent from my SPH-M900 using Tapatalk
    2015 F250 Platinum

Comment

Just jump into it. The easiest way to learn is to hang out in the kitchen and get your hands dirty when there's a good cook around. Offer to wash the cutting boards, mixing bowls, etc and have them explain what they're doing and why. Buy a decent ($30) chef's knife and santoku, a couple cutting boards of different colors for meat, chicken, veggies, and measuring cups/spoons.

In the meantime, buy a cookbook and pick one of your fave meals, or look online for the recipe to one of your fave restaurant meals (ex. Monterrey Chicken from Chili's ) because you know how that's supposed to taste. Mom's cooking works well, too. Get recipes from her and if it doesn't taste right, call her up and tell her what you did and she can probably steer you in the right direction. Experiment with all genres and you'll soon learn how much of each spice is enough and what tastes good together. From there, you'll be able to make anything you want from scratch, and it will be AT LEAST pretty decent on your first try. Find two recipes for the same dish online, compare the two, make sure your portions are close, and then take some liberties and make it your own. That's what I do for dishes I've never made before.

Comment

Thinking of trying this sometime next week, it looks easy to make

Comment

Make sure you have a very, very good understanding of what a teaspoon and a tablespoon look like. You mix those up and nothing you make will turn out right.
          - Darrell

1993 LX - Reef Blue R331ci
          1993 Cobra #199 - SOLD

Comment