Help me with muscle building/fitness goal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me with muscle building/fitness goal

First off, I apologize in advance for my ignorance in the subject of fitness and muscle building. I'm a newb and know very little. I'm currently 215lbs and 5'10". My goal is to gain some muscle mass, then lose the extra fat, as I've heard this is the order that's most effective.

Here's what I've been doing for the last 4-5 weeks:

-gym 3 times a week with my routine as follows:
    Full body work out with about 12 different machines (I'm scared of free weights right now)
    2 sets of 15 reps-medium weight
    20-25 min of cardio on the bicycle (about all I can do with my messed up knees)
    -mountain biking 1-3 times a week, usually for about a hour

My diet probably isn't what it needs to be, but I do generally eat healthy and I have cut out fast food. I know I'm probably still taking in too many calories because I like to eat large portions and I doubt I'm getting enough protein. Maybe I should probably add a protein powder to my diet?

Today I started doing all my usual weight machines but 2 sets of 8 with heavy weights.

I'm not sure if I'm going about this right, there's a lot of conflicting info out there. Some say do full body, heavy weights for no more than 2 sets of 8 reps. Some say break it into upper body one day, lower body the next and do 2 sets of 10-12 reps, etc. Some say cardio is ok, some say limit it to 15 minutes during muscle building. It's confusing to say the least for a beginner.

Thanks for any help

First let me say this...don't let your fears decide your fate. Don't be scared of all free weights.

Next, clean up your diet. You know it's shit...fix it. I you want to build muscle you gotta have protein and a good amount of it.

Lastly, I'd suggest going heavier for less reps, as well as breaking down muscle groups. I would never suggest full body workouts if you're trying to build,