Can you ID this brush?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you ID this brush?

Our property in Rowlett is overrun with this brush. It grows in clumps, grows insanely fast and spreads like wildfire. I have no clue what it's called. Any ideas?

This is one I pushed over a while back:

Can you ID this brush?

Easily half of our property is so overgrown that it's not even usable. It's so thick you can't even walk through it. We're going to clear most of it in our "spare time" but I'd like to know what it's called so I can correctly describe it to people.

Comment

I'm no expert, but that kinda looks like yaupon (yo-pahn) holly

If it's yaupon you can kill it... or you can make pretty awesome tea out of the leaves (they're actually caffeinated like black or green tea - one of those native American things that was lost along the way) My MIL makes some killer yaupon products from their land in central TX and has a whole website built to sell teas
      Last edited by Strychnine; 10-03-2017, 09:09 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Strychnine View Post
        I'm no expert, but that kinda looks like yaupon (yo-pahn) holly. Have you seen purple or red berries on it in the past few weeks / month? Something like this?

If it's yaupon you can kill it... or you can make pretty awesome (they're actually caffeinated like black or green tea) or jelly/jam with the berries. My MIL makes some killer yaupon products from their land in central TX and has a whole website built to sell teas and jams.
        This is what I picture when I think yaupon:

This stuff we've got grows probably 20' high if left alone. Maybe more. Very spindly and tall but it ends up in these massive clumps because it grows so close together. There are no berries. It has white flowers at certain times of the year. Our bees love it when the flowers are in bloom but I'll gladly plant some more bee-friendly stuff once this crap is gone. Something I can manage.