Moving car into a family members name

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving car into a family members name

Over the summer, I bought my sister a Hyundai Sonata that came with a rebuilt title. I paid all the fees and put it in my name and gave her the car under the assumption that she needed to put it in her name. She hasn't been able to do that over the 6 months that shes had the car, and recently she accrued some charges that I have to pay for since its in my name.

I'd like to get the car moved out of my name and put in hers for Christmas, but I am not sure what it will cost, any ballparks estimates out there? It will be moved from my name to my sisters, her last name is not the same since she is married though, so not sure if that is an issue.

I've never done a gift transfer before, so any information sans what I've read online would be great.

Last time we did that, being it was from me to my dad, we did a name change only. I think it was $5 or something like that.

Comment

Texas procedure for transferring a vehicle title when buying, selling, inheriting, or donating a car. Learn all the TX DOT's requirements to officially change ownership of a vehicle.

Look for this section: Gifted and Donated Vehicles

Comment

To add to the previous statements, you will need the these two forms filled out. $5 fee instead of sales tax and then the title fees. About $30.

If it is registered in your name, it will just transfer over to her.

Comment

I saw that information and wanted to make sure it was really that cheap. Thanks guys!

Comment

Sounds like you got the info you needed.

if someone gave me a car i would damn sure take care of business a bit faster. Maybe there is something i am missing but damn she sounds lazy and ungratefull. Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by smrr1 View Post
              Sounds like you got the info you needed.