Residential Window Tint

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Residential Window Tint

Well, summertime is fast approaching and I have a 1964 house with twelve single pane south-facing 7x3 windows. At least there's a nice canopy of trees, and the windows don't face west.

I absolutely hate the idea of covering up this beautiful glass with all kinds of super-thick curtains or screens to block the heat and UV. I think I'd like to try some kind of tint first. Are any DFWM folks doing this, or have a recommendation for a local company that does it? Thanks.
    When the government pays, the government controls.

Obviously I'm not an expert in that field, but I've been shopping for windows for my house over the last several months. One of the guys I talked to and got quotes from said the only real benefit to tint is to cut down glare, and that it will actually work against the efficiency of the windows. This was in reference to ordering triple pane windows with tinted glass. I'm not sure how accurate that is, just relaying what he said.
    Originally posted by BradM
    But, just like condoms and women's rights, I don't believe in them.
    Originally posted by Leah
    In other news: Brent's meat melts in your mouth.

Comment

Tried some before from lowes didn't notice anything besides a 3 degree temperature drop and slightly darker. This was the darkest tint possible. Not worth it.

Comment

I had a guy come out to give me a quote on tint, but screens were oddly cheaper.

God bless.
        It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men -Frederick Douglass

Comment

Originally posted by bcoop View Post