Anyone into car audio?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone into car audio?

I ask because I never see anyone on here talking about it. I love music and love it loud but not like these all bass systems or the damn ice cream truck speakers mounted outside. I like it to sound as if you are sitting there in the recording room at a studio or like you are front row center at a concert.

So I set out to build a nice stereo for my daily driver. First budget was $350. That was a waste of $350. So I upped it to a grand and have been happy with some minor disappointments here and there.
    I gave up and decided to build my ultimate system and through some patience and frugal shopping I had managed to do it for cheap, like non running 1990 Accord cheap.

I am a basic installer with no real wood or fiberglass skills so I went with an off the shelf sub box.
    I have $1500 total in this system including wires, breakers, sound mat and the new illusions..... well $1700 but the Bostons are already sold for $200 so..... meh.

Install is as follows:
    Pioneer DEH-P8400BH source unit with the USB port in the spare opening where the CD player used to be.
    Front speakers are Illusion Audio Carbon C6
    Subs are Dayton Audio HO 12"
    Sub amp is a JL Audio 500/1
    Main amp is a JL Audio 450/4
    Only signal processor is an Audio Control ESP-2

For wires I am using 4awg M.E.S.A. power throughout and Rockford circuit and distribution as well as Rockford twisted RCA wires and Rockford 12 & 14 awg speaker wires.

This will start with where I am now. Currently I have Boston Acoustic Pro60s in the doors but will be swapped out for the Illusions tomorrow. That is when I will install the sound deadener, MDF rings and the foam surrounds to seal the mids to the door panel. I will be sure to take pictures of that.