Starting my first build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting my first build

I ordered a Spikes Tactical stripped lower...it should be here today or tomorrow!

In the next two weeks I will be getting the paperwork together to setup a Trust and sending off the paperwork to make it an SBR. Then, during the 6-8 month (I hear) wait, I'll be collecting parts and assembling.

Thought I'd throw that out there. I've never built one before, so this'll be a new experience for me.

Also, the plan is after this is all done, sometime next year to suppress it.
    Matts1911SA - XBox Live Gamertag

Cool deal man!

Also, make sure you get the engraving done. It is easier to do it when the lower is completely stripped.

But what barrel length are you going with? Also, I assume you are getting a 223 upper?

Edit: Also it shouldn't take 6 months now, I hear the wait times are about 2 months now, 4 at the most.
    Originally posted by lincolnboy
    After watching Games of Thrones, makes me glad i was not born in those years.

Comment

Originally posted by DOHCTR View Post
      Cool deal man!

Also, make sure you get the engraving done. It is easier to do it when the lower is completely stripped.

But what barrel length are you going with? Also, I assume you are getting a 223 upper?

Edit: Also it shouldn't take 6 months now, I hear the wait times are about 2 months now, 4 at the most.
      Yea, I'm going to use the same local guy my boss did for the engraving. Am I right in assuming that that must be done after the SBR paperwork and tax stamp come back?

I think I'm going to go 10.5 inches on the barrel, but I havent set anything in stone just yet. And yes, this first build I'm keeping it simple and doing a .223 upper.

Comment

Just do the engraving somepoing between now and then. The ATF does give a grace period after you receive your stamp, but what that is or who actually knows beats me.