Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Legal question and advice needed, employer related.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Legal question and advice needed, employer related.

My brother called me pissed because his employer (small business) is withholding 3% of his check into a "savings account". He gets the money at the end of the year.

He signed up for it last year, but advised them he wants to opt out of it this year. They told him that he could not...Can they legally do this? He'd rather get that 3% and invest it himself. The "savings account" they have doesnt accure/gain any money so its obvious they are making interest off his money.

Any links online that he can print showing they cant do such a thing without his permission? Im not an expert on this subject, but I thought the only thing they can take out is for taxes, child support and garnished wages.

Originally posted by A_A_G View Post
    My brother called me pissed because his employer (small business) is withholding 3% of his check into a "savings account". He gets the money at the end of the year.

He signed up for it last year, but advised them he wants to opt out of it this year. They told him that he could not...Can they legally do this? He'd rather get that 3% and invest it himself. The "savings account" they have doesnt accure/gain any money so its obvious they are making interest off his money.

Any links online that he can print showing they cant do such a thing without his permission? Im not an expert on this subject, but I thought the only thing they can take out is for taxes, child support and garnished wages.
    Is it a city job? Same thing happened to me when I was a lifeguard for the city in high school.

Comment

I've never heard of not being able to opt out of something like that. Sounds like bullshit to me.

Comment

Originally posted by Taylor View Post
        Is it a city job? Same thing happened to me when I was a lifeguard for the city in high school.