Having problems with my landlord

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Having problems with my landlord

So I've been renting a house in the Woodlands for 6-7 months now, and I still have never had any contact with the landlord. In the lease that we signed, he promised to fix multiple (minor) issues with the house before we moved in. We were in kind of a time crunch at the time, and when we moved in, we noticed none of the things had been done. Fine. We noted that on the move in sheet. I've tried calling, emailing, etc, and have never heard anything back. Last month after my wife stepped on an exposed nail i decided to withhold a small amount of the rent (300 dollars of a 1300 dollar rent) to see if he'd notice and contact us. Still nothing. I realize I'm not allowed to withhold rent, but I really dont know what to do. We're really not that happy with the house and location, but it was the best thing we could find at the time. Do we have any ground to terminate the lease due to lack of contact? We've been in touch with both our and his real estate agency, and they have not been able to contact him either. I'm just trying to figure out if getting a lawyer would be a good play, or a waste of time/money.
    http://www.amazon.com/Viralution-Don...don+kehlenbeck

www.facebook.com/TheViralution

Originally posted by tribaltalon View Post