T5 high bay wiring. Elec. gurus!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• T5 high bay wiring. Elec. gurus!

So, I'm not very good at choosing the correct products to tackle a job. I have purchased 5 T5 H.O 6bulb light fixtures for my shop. I have no idea what circuit breaker to buy and also gauge in wiring. The guy at Home Depot told me to buy 12/2 gauge wiring and a 20amp circuit breaker. I looked at my circuit breaker box and the majority of the breakers are 30-40amps and only have one 20amp circuit breaker. Is that too thin of a gauge to use and also not enough amps in the that circuit breaker for the lights? Below are pictures of what I currently have.

Current light specs for the fixtures

Wiring that I have

Circuit breaker

And light fixture

that should be plenty, just make sure you got the right breaker for your brand box, they are all different. I figure you could run a few of the high bays of the 20a if you decided to add a few more or an outlet.

edit: I'm not an electrician but wired my shop/garage/shed etc and my electrician friend told me I was good so I'm going by that....Mines been fine for 3+ years so far

Comment

I know just enough about electrical work to know I need to pay someone to do it. That shit hurts when you fuck up.

Comment

Originally posted by Craizie View Post
        I know just enough about electrical work to know I need to pay someone to do it. That shit hurts when you fuck up.
        Amen- 'pay them for what they do' is my saying when I'm over my head or have more money than time.

Comment

overkill...

You only really need 14/2 wire on a 15amp breaker but honestly the price difference on 12/2 vs 14/2 isnt much.

max watts = amps x volts
          1800 watts = 15 amps x 120 volts

Being that it is a lighting circuit that would run constant, it would be safer to reduce it by 20-25%...so 1440 watts for a 14/2 wire.